National Legal Network of Lawyers

Statute of Limitations for ALL 50 States

Statute of Limitations for ALL 50 States

Did you know that you have a legal time limit in which to bring a personal injury lawsuit before you lose the right to sue?

Most legal issues have a statute of limitation which restricts the period of time during which a plaintiff may bring legal proceedings against a defendant. It’s essentially the time limit you have in order to file a lawsuit, before you lose your right to sue. The legislature is responsible for enacting statutes of limitations and may also extend or reduce those time limits because of certain factors.

The list at the bottom of this page provides the statutes of limitation for personal injury claims in all 50 states plus the District of Columbia.

Filing a Personal Injury Claim

It is essential for anyone interested in filing a personal injury claim to be aware of the statute of limitations in his or her home state. Failure to file a lawsuit with the court by the time the statute of limitations expires will result in your loss of the right to legally seek restitution. Since the timely filing of a lawsuit is essential to any personal injury claim, it is important to make sure you have documentation for the date of filing. If you enlist the services of a personal injury lawyer, this step is in the hands of your legal professional. However, you still want to follow up with your lawyer to 100% ensure that you do not miss the deadline for filing.

Extension of Filing Time

As indicated above, statutes of limitations are set by the legislature in the individual states. Being aware of the statute of limitations from the start can help you avoid missing the deadline and losing out on a damage award for your injuries.

If you have suffered injuries due to the negligence of another person or company, you need to seek the services of a personal injury attorney. We can help. All you need to do is fill out the contact form on the website or call 1-800-ATTORNEY 24-7.

State Time Limit
Alabama 2 Years
Alaska 2 Years
Arizona 2 Years
Arkansas 3 Years
California 2 Years
Colorado 2 Years
Connecticut 2 Years
Delaware 2 Years
District of Columbia 3 Years
Florida 4 Years
Georgia 2 Years
Hawaii 2 Years
Idaho 2 Years
Illinois 2 Years
Indiana 2 Years
Iowa 2 Years
Kansas 2 Years
Kentucky 1 Year
Louisiana 1 Year
Maine 6 Years
Maryland 3 Years
Massachusetts 3 Years
Michigan 3 Years
Minnesota 2 Years
Mississippi 2 Years
Missouri 5 Years
Montana 3 Years
Nebraska 4 Years
Nevada 2 Years
New Hampshire 3 Years
New Jersey 2 Years
New Mexico 3 Years
New York 3 Years
North Carolina 3 Years
North Dakota 6 Years
Ohio 2 Years
Oklahoma 2 Years
Oregon 2 Years
Pennsylvania 2 Years
Rhode Island 3 Years
South Carolina 3 Years
South Dakota 3 Years
Tennessee 3 Years
Texas 2 Years
Utah 4 Years
Vermont 3 Years
Virginia 2 Years
Washington 3 Years
West Virginia 2 Years
Wisconsin 3 Years
Wyoming 4 Years
*These statutes are subject to change. For the most up-to-date information, speak with a local attorney…

1-800-ATTORNEY® - Copyright © Lawyer Holdings, LLC
For licensing information: Contact us